skip to content

Sainsbury Laboratory


The Gatsby Plant Science Summer School 2024

The Gatsby Plant Science Summer School (GPSSS) was established by the University of Leeds in 2005 and is now part of the Gatsby Plant Science Education Programme (GPSEP) at the University of Cambridge.

The 2024 Summer School, in its 20th year running, will take place in late June/early July. 

The summer school is a unique opportunity for first year (or second year in Scotland) students studying at the below universities, to discover the challenge and opportunities of studying plant science, through talks from leading scientists, careers sessions, eye-opening workshops and thought-provoking discussions with researchers and peers.

Take a look here to get more information on a previous summer school. 

You can also see lectures from past years on the Gatsby Plant Science Education Programme YouTube channel.

The academic advisor and co-founder for the school is Dr Celia Knight, the project manager is Claire Pennycuick, and the project coordinator is Sarah Barnert.


If you have any additional questions about the Gatsby Plant Science Summer School, please contact Sarah at

The recruitment of students for GPSSS is aided by Gatsby Mentors working in the participating Universities. A full list of the mentors is provided below.

Gatsby Mentor University
Professor John Doonan Aberystwyth University
Professor Jim Murray Cardiff University
Professor Keith Lindsey Durham University
Dr Tolga Bozkurt Imperial College London
Dr Mike Roberts Lancaster University
Dr Patricia Lopez-Calcago Newcastle University
Dr Verena Kriechbaumer Oxford Brookes University
Professor Alessandra Devoto Royal Holloway University of London
Professor Adam Price University of Aberdeen
Dr Paula Kover University of Bath
Dr Daniel Gibbs University of Birmingham
Dr Imogen Sparkes University of Bristol
Professor Julian M. Hibberd University of Cambridge
Dr Piers Hemsley University of Dundee
Dr Ben Miller University of East Anglia
Professor Andrew Hudson University of Edinburgh
Professor Tracy Lawson University of Essex
Dr David Studholme University of Exeter
Dr Eirini Kaiserli University of Glasgow
Dr Stefan Kepinski University of Leeds
Dr Sinéad Drea University of Leicester
Dr James Hartwell University of Liverpool
Dr Jon Pittman  University of Manchester
Professor Zoe Wilson University of Nottingham
Dr Francesco Licausi University of Oxford
Dr Jonathan Mitchley University of Reading
Professor Katie Field University of Sheffield
Professor Matthew Terry University of Southampton
Professor Alex Jones University of Warwick
Dr Liz Rylott University of York