skip to content

Sainsbury Laboratory


The Gatsby Plant Science Summer School 2022

The Gatsby Plant Science Summer School (GPSSS) was established by the University of Leeds in 2005 and is now part of the Gatsby Plant Science Education Programme (GPSEP) at the University of Cambridge.

The 2022 Summer School, in its 18th year running, will take place in late June. 

The summer school is a unique opportunity for first year (or second year in Scotland) students studying at the below universities, to discover the challenge and opportunities of studying plant science, through talks from leading scientists, careers sessions, eye-opening workshops and thought-provoking discussions with researchers and peers.

To see what last year's summer school involved, take a look here
You can also see lectures from past years on the Gatsby Plant Science Education Programme YouTube channel.

The academic advisor and co-founder for the school is Dr Celia Knight, the project managers are Dr Charlotte Carroll and Claire Pennycuick, and the project coordinator is Dr Andrea Paterlini.

GPSSS team: Charlotte Carroll (left), Claire Pennycuick (middle) and Andrea Paterlini (right).

If you have any additional questions about the Gatsby Plant Science Summer School, please contact Andrea at

The recruitment of students for GPSSS is aided by Gatsby Mentors working in the participating Universities. A full list of the mentors is provided below.

Gatsby Mentor University
Professor Keith Lindsey Durham University
Professor Pietro Spanu Imperial College London
Dr Mike Roberts Lancaster University
Dr Verena Kriechbaumer Oxford Brookes University
Professor Alessandra Devoto Royal Holloway University of London
Professor Adam Price University of Aberdeen
Dr Paula Kover University of Bath
Dr Daniel Gibbs University of Birmingham
Dr Jill Harrison University of Bristol
Professor Julian M. Hibberd University of Cambridge
Dr Piers Hemsley University of Dundee
Dr Ben Miller University of East Anglia
Professor Andrew Hudson University of Edinburgh
Professor Tracy Lawson University of Essex
Dr David Studholme University of Exeter
Dr Eirini Kaiserli University of Glasgow
Dr Stefan Kepinski University of Leeds
Professor Dave Twell University of Leicester
Dr James Hartwell University of Liverpool
Dr Jon Pittman  University of Manchester
Professor Anne Borland University of Newcastle
Prof Zoe Wilson University of Nottingham
Dr Francesco Licausi University of Oxford
Dr Jonathan Mitchley University of Reading
Professor Andrew Fleming University of Sheffield
Professor Matthew Terry University of Southampton
Professor Lorenzo Frigerio University of Warwick
Professor Richard Waites University of York